Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 2:53pm

Students at JCC's Jamestown and Cattaraugus County campuses were inducted into the Alpha Kappa Beta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the national two-year college honor fraternity, in individual ceremonies.

Craig A. Clark, dean of applied technology at Alfred State College and a 1975 graduate of JCC, was the guest speaker for each ceremony.
Clark earned a master's degree in civil engineering with a major in construction engineering and management at North Carolina State University and a bachelor's degree in civil engineering at the University of Colorado. He is a candidate for a doctoral degree in civil engineering through North Carolina State University.

Clark, who also serves as mayor of Alfred, encouraged the students to look for, and accept, challenging opportunities in the workforce, community service, and leadership.

“Remember that many opportunities only appear once in your life,” said Clark. “You should continue to look for opportunities to challenge you and say yes to those opportunities as they appear.”

A student must achieve at least a 3.50 grade point average to be considered for induction and must have two faculty recommendations. Phi Theta Kappa is a national honor society for two-year colleges. Inductees must have a grade point average of at least 3.5, be recommended by two faculty members, and have completed at least 15 credit hours toward a degree. Phi Theta Kappa recognizes and encourages scholarship among two-year college students by providing opportunity for the development of leadership and service, an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, and stimulating interest in continuing academic excellence.

Jamestown Campus nductees included: Kendelle Kosinski and Sandra Sundlov, Ashville; Jordan Farnham, Bemus Point; David Livingston, Bradford, PA; Kelli Hanson, Cambridge, MA; Hillary Belin, Trevia Meikle, and Brenton Wilcox, Cassadaga; Steven Cowan, Celoron; Rebecca Skinner, Clymer; Courtney Panfil, Derby; James Addington, Bonnie Baron, and Gabrielle Carr, Dunkirk; Elizabeth Holdridge, Kyler Miller, and Amanda Weilacher, Falconer; Shelly Dillenburg, Christopher Perry, and Candace Webber, Forestville; Ryan Bigham, Franklinville; Monica Buck, Louise Decosta-Bacher, Trenton Greenawalt, Carly Hirschman, Samuel Leone, Emilyann Pleszewski, Jessica Swoyer, and Judy Vara, Fredonia; Calvin Hartson and Matthew Rhinehart, Frewsburg; Marya Hoffman, Gowanda; Nicholas Anderson, Natalie Benson, Devin Callahan, Christina Cardinale, Irene Culpepper, Cody Delong, David Digirolamo, Jamie Ernewein, Vincent Gerace, Tracy Grant-Goodwill, Charles Haluska, Michelle Hawkins, Kyla Hill, Nicholas Hummerich, Nathan Johnson, Tammi Kavanaugh, Erin Kress, Andrew Lawrence, Zackery Miller, Emily Radnovich, Trenton Stafford, Jalen Taylor, Danelle Turney, Nichole Waller, and Laura Walters, Jamestown; Travis Jordan, Kennedy; Holly Wojtowicz, Kill Buck; Allison Cramer, Brandt Doucette, Jennifer Reed, and Emily Windoft, Lakewood; Samantha Gilmore, Mayville; Shanae Abdo, Olean; Darren McIntyre, Portland; Denise Greeley, Benjamin Jackson, and Tesla Keyes, Randolph; Alyssa McGill, Ripley; Kayla Grinnell, Russell, PA; Savannah Blanchard and Spencer Smith, Sherman; Sara Trombley, South Dayton; Kate Ewer, Sugar Grove, PA; Stephanie Diener and Julie Labesky, Warren, PA; Jeffrey Emilson and Tonia Sprague, Westfield; Charlene Fohrd and Bernice Markley, Youngsville, PA.

Cattaraugus County Campus inductees included: Patricia Malachowsky of Allegany; Sarah Potter of Arcade; Dawn Reid of Bradford, PA; Tammy Ellis and Pamalla Harvey of Cattaraugus; Roxanne Boggiano and Hayley Stanbro of Franklinville; Tokin Kim and Tonya Searle-Rutkowski of Friendship; Jerrica Linderman of Hinsdale; Sarah Kie of Killbuck; Katrina Adams, James DiBlasi, Rachael Fillgrove, and Nicole Sova of Olean; Casey Bray, Michael Green, Tonya Riesman, and Hannah Whittaker of Portville; Autumn Crouse, Kariann Kettle, and Amanda Koniak of Salamanca; Justin McKeirnan and Melanie Traina of Smethport, PA; and Mariah Cranston of West Valley.


Printer-friendly version