Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 11:22am

Works from the Southern Tier Biennial exhibition will be on display at JCC's Center Gallery in Olean and the Olean Public Library from September 23 to October 27.

Receptions will be held on September 23 beginning at 3 p.m. in the Olean Public Library Art Gallery and 4:30 p.m. at JCC’s Center Gallery on North Union Street in Olean.

The receptions are free and open to the public. Refreshments will be served at both venues, and the State Street Ramblers will perform in JCC’s gallery.

The exhibition is produced by the Cattaraugus County Arts Council in collaboration with the Olean Public Library, JCC, and the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation, made possible by an endowment from the estate of F. Donald Kenney.

Hundreds of artists have entered the Southern Tier Biennial over the past 12 years, showcasing the vitality and diversity of contemporary art in the region.

This year’s jurors, Tullis Johnson, curator and manager of archives at the Burchfield Penney Art Center in Buffalo, and nationally recognized fine artist Thomas Paquette from northwest Pennsylvania reviewed submissions of 165 works from over 60 artists. They selected work that continues the tradition of presenting a diverse group of artists for this regional survey of contemporary art in the nine counties of New York state’s Southern Tier.

Exhibiting artists are: Satyavani Akula (Elmira, oil painting), Ellen Bahr (Alfred, archival pigment print), Fay Bleier (Limestone, oil painting), Gwendolyn Brown (Ellicottville, oil painting), Judson Brown (West Valley, oil painting), James Colby (Lakewood, digital giclee), Schuyler Dawson (Alfred, sculpture), Audrey Kay Dowling (Westfield, block print), Jacqueline Fischer (Alfred, sculpture), Mary Ann Fritz (Machias, fiber art), Susan Forrester-Mackay (Fredonia, oil painting), Barbara Fox (Little Valley, oil painting), Lindsey Glover (Trumansburg, digital print), Hall Groat II (Endwell, oil painting), Anthony Hanakovic (Endwell, oil painting), Theresa Heinz (Cuba, mixed media), David Higgins (Corning, mixed media), Dale Inglett (Alfred Station, mixed media), Kellin Jansen (Alfred, painting), J.W. Johnston (Whitney Point, photography), Heather Kanazawa (Kennedy, painting), Susan Kendrot (Windsor, monotype), Medis Kent (Findley Lake, fiber art), Ashley Kerr (Alfred Station, sculpture), Mark Kirsch (Jamestown, dye print), Jennifer Miller (Westons Mills, oil painting), Barbara Mink (Ithaca, painting), James Mullen (Endwell, linocut), Richard Nolan (Johnson City, wood), Catherine Panebianco (Jamestown, photography), Serena Preston (Belfast, drawing), Eileen Proto (Olean, gelatin silver print), Nicole Shields (Randolph, mixed media), Jeremy Speed Schwartz (Wayland, animation), Christine Sullivan (Elmira, oil painting), Hannah Thompsett (Allentown, ceramic and fiberglass), Chris Walters (Corning, photography), Mikel Wintermantel (Allegany, oil painting), Celeste Withiam (Trumansburg, drawing), Hope Zaccagni (Alfred Station, oil painting), and Stephanie Zwyghuizen (Jamestown, linocut print).

Printer-friendly version